Seminary, The Walk

Thunderstorms

I was driving home tonight, drowning in my own thoughts and frustrated with the confusion that I felt in trying to wrap my head around a really technical theological problem. While questioning my own biblical and theological abilities, I noticed a massive lightning storm in the East. Watching the clouds silhouetted by lightning, God brought to mind how confusing and terrifyingly beautiful storms like this must have been to the people in the past. In doing so, God reminded me that confusion will always be a part of this life, especially in my studies of Him, because He is so transcendent beyond my feeble mental capacities.

So now I lay in bed and watch the lightning, comforted in the few facts I know; God loves me, died for me, saved me, and wants to know me. Everything else seems so little in comparison to that.

Standard

Join the Conversation

