Family Life

How do you decompress?

Life is hectic and stressful.

I have re-discovered something I love doing to decompress and have some time to just think and refresh.

I love working on cars. I have had a 65 mustang since I was 15 and a half, and spent most of my high school life working on it. It currently sits in my garage patiently waiting for me to finish school and be able to put in the time and effort to restore it. Since we have bought our house, I have rediscovered the joy of having my own garage to do work on, rather than paying someone else to do it. I recently did a bunch of repairs on both my truck and my wife’s car and it has been incredibly refreshing. It is a place where I can sit and figure out how to fix things, and it also brings me back to when I was a kid sitting in the garage with my dad learning how to do brakes, oil changes, and other maintenance.

In an effort to learn more about you dear reader, I would love to hear about what you do to decompress. Do you write? or thrift shop? What is it that you do that refreshes and refills you?

Please comment below, maybe I will find something else to do from your suggestions.

Standard

2 thoughts on “How do you decompress?

  1. carynciardella says:

    Reading a book or wandering around Goodwill is my go-to for checking out but I also love to waste hours in front of my computer picking up random pieces of information, looking at pretty pictures, and hopefully learning something useful. 🙂

  2. dchatterton66 says:

    “and it also brings me back to when I was a kid sitting in the garage with my dad learning how to do brakes, oil changes, and other maintenance.” I remember watching you two together… great memories!

    Honestly, my time to decompress and refresh is on Sunday afternoons when the four of us hang out! I love how we are just together, either in a restaurant or back at the house, and our conversations range from very serious to laugh-out-loud fun.
    That’s what recharges my battery and fills my heart with contentment.

Join the Conversation

