The Walk

What are your other gods?

This is from my Life Journal plan on youversion.com for daily bible reading.

Exodus 23:13 “Pay close attention to all my instructions. You must not call on the name of any other gods. Do not even speak their names.

I must admit my first thought after reading this verse was a smug, pharisiacal, religious one that mentally condemned others who pick and choose their religion like it’s a drink at Starbucks, then God drop kicked me from the top rope with this thought. “how many times have you said to yourself, ‘if I just had more money I could do/would do ….'”

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=love+of+money&iid=5262220″ src=”b/1/f/4/businesswoman_watching_and_bca8.jpg?adImageId=9633188&imageId=5262220″ width=”380″ height=”380″ /]

Ouch.

Many times I make money my functional God, I let my lack of abundance control my life and my decisions. I have let the “American Dream” become my god.

God showed me today how he always provides, and also showed me how stingy I am with my money. Like the parable Jesus tells in Luke 16

9 Here’s the lesson: Use your worldly resources to benefit others and make friends. Then, when your earthly possessions are gone, they will welcome you to an eternal home. 10 “If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones. But if you are dishonest in little things, you won’t be honest with greater responsibilities.11 And if you are untrustworthy about worldly wealth, who will trust you with the true riches of heaven?

God has provided for me more than I need, and I have not used the gifts given to me to serve others. I think this is a least a part of the reason that I have struggled to find a place to minister, because if I cannot be trusted to be selfless with my money, how can God trust me to shepherd His people?

God, forgive me for allowing money to be my god and to affect my life more than you. Help me to use the gifts you have given me to serve others and not myself.

What are your functional gods? What do you pursue harder than God? Status? Money? Popularity? Sex? A relationship? Join the discussion below.

Standard

One thought on “What are your other gods?

  1. Pingback: NorthShore Student Ministries » Read this blog entry:

Join the Conversation

