The Walk

Building Perserverence – My Prayer Project

James 1:2-5 – Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

It’s hard to consider it joy when I face trials. I tend to think when I face trials, or God telling me to wait, that it is due to something I need to learn, or a sin in my life that God is not willing to let me move forward with. Like I am being punished for something. In my head I know that is not the case, that if it was God would reveal to me what he wants to see change in my life, but nonetheless, I feel like the reason I am not moving forward is because of me.

I am sure that is not the case, because it seems I keep ending up at this part of scripture. I am supposed to consider it joy, because I know I am developing perseverance to continue in what God has planned for me.

I think what I have been missing is verse 5. I have not done much to ask God for wisdom to learn what I need to learn in this season of life. In fact, when it comes to talking to God, I am pretty lame.

[picapp align=”left”  link=”term=praying+hands&iid=5133824″ src=”c/6/8/4/Closeup_of_human_16e6.jpg?adImageId=8343736&imageId=5133824″ width=”152″ height=”256″ /]I have realized my prayer life usually consists of me complaining and asking for help, very rarely listening or thanking God for what he has done in my life. Jesus gives us a pretty clear direction on how our prayer should be in the Lord’s prayer. I am making a commitment to increase the prayer in my life and to do so biblically. The starting point in the Lord’s prayer, but I plan to study more instances of prayer in the Bible to really learn how to pray. So here is my first step, a prayer, following Jesus’ pattern in the Lord’s prayer.

God, you are good and totally unlike anything else. To the point my mind can’t even begin to try to understand it.

I pray that in this world, and in my life, your will is done, and that I follow your direction like the angels do in heaven.

I trust you to provide for me whatever it is I need today.

Forgive me for every time I mess up and sin against you, and help me to forgive people like you have forgiven me.

I am going to be tempted today to sin again, help me to recognize those temptations and turn to you to save me from myself and my own desires.

Because everything good is from You. You are in control of my life, and any glory of mine is only due to your grace.

I love you,

Amen

Standard

Join the Conversation

