The Walk

In the weeds

[picapp src=”0218/09bdf3e5-a123-4bd2-b966-3d76b773ca3c.jpg?adImageId=5045610&imageId=221671″ width=”337″ height=”506″ /]
For anyone who has worked in a restaurant, the term “In the weeds” is familiar, it is a phrase describing someone who is struggling and overwhelmed by their tables or guest requests. Tonight I was reading in Luke 8:14-15

“The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature. But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.”

I realize I get in the weeds a lot.

I overcommit myself. I see the problems, not the opportunities. I get choked out.

I know how to get out of the weeds at work. There are two options: 1. dig in, and work as fast as you can, knowing you are losing out on money as your tip average free falls 2. Ask for help and get caught up quickly without suffering much loss. The first option is prideful and foolish, the second requires humility to admit you can’t do it all.

I am no good at getting out of the weeds of life though. When life/work/responsibility overwhelms me, I pridefully try to fix it myself rather than ask for help. I persevere, but I do it alone. I think asking for help shows weakness and foolishness. Asking for help does show weakness, and a humility that you acknowledge your shortcomings.

Jesus explains that the seed that produces is a seed that heeds advice, gets help in life, and perseveres with the help of Jesus, and good council.

God help me to seek Your council, and the council of the wise people in my life so that my life is a life that produces a lasting effect, not a flash in the pan, only to be choked out by the worries of this short life.

Standard

Join the Conversation

